Advanced International Certificate of Education (AICE)

The Cambridge Advanced International Certificate of Education (AICE) Diploma is an international curriculum and examination system that emphasises the value of broad and balanced study. Alongside in-depth understanding of a variety of subjects, students also need to master a broader range of skills critical for success in university study and employment. The Aice Diploma encompasses the ‘gold standard’ Cambridge International AS and A Level qualifications, and offers students the opportunity to tailor their studies to their individual interests, abilities and future plans within an international curriculum framework.

The Cambridge AICE Diploma is a group certificate which requires learners to study a compulsory core subject, Cambridge AS Level Global Perspectives & Research, with Cambridge AS & A Level subjects drawn from three curriculum areas: mathematics and science (Group 1), languages (Group 2), and arts and humanities (Group 3). There is the option to study interdisciplinary subjects (Group 4).

Cambridge AICE Diploma Credits

To achieve the Cambridge AICE Diploma, learners must achieve a minimum of seven credits (including Cambridge International AS Level Global Perspectives & Research) from subject groups 1, 2, and 3 (and optionally Group 4) to be awarded the Diploma. Learners must achieve at least one credit from each of Groups 1, 2 and 3.

The remaining credits can come from any of the groups. A Cambridge International AS Level is awarded one credit, and a Cambridge International A Level is awarded two credits.

Learners who pass the Cambridge International A Level in Global Perspectives & Research meet the compulsory requirement of the core group and also have one credit which may then be included in Group 4 to contribute to the overall requirement of seven credits.

The following combinations of credits are valid for the Diploma:

When a learner’s best overall outcome is achieved through a combination of Cambridge International A Level Global Perspectives & Research and three Cambridge International A Levels, this will be allowed even though it equates to eight credits. The maximum number of points a learner can be awarded is 420.

Study and assessment options

Cambridge International AS Level is typically a one-year course and Cambridge International A Level is typically a two-year course. The structure of the course content and assessment makes it possible to co-teach learners who are following both the Cambridge International AS and A Level routes.

  • Take all Cambridge International A Level components in the same examination session at the end of the course of study, normally the end of the second year.
  • Follow a staged assessment to Cambridge International A Level by taking the Cambridge International AS Level qualification in one examination series, and the final part of assessment (Cambridge International A Level) in a subsequent series.
  • Take the Cambridge International AS Level only.

Accumulating results over multiple exam series

A learner can accumulate results to be used towards the Cambridge AICE Diploma over more than one exam series. They can use up to five exam series to take the equivalent of seven full credit examinations as long as they are taken within a 25-month period. For example, a candidate entering for the Cambridge AICE Diploma in November 2017 may only use previous results gained in the November 2015, June 2016, November 2016 and June 2017 examination series.


Cambridge International A Level uses a wide range of assessment processes and techniques to supplement formal written examinations – orals, practicals, projects and coursework of various types are all used in various subjects where they are the most effective and appropriate means of measuring attainment.

Cambridge International A Level subjects are graded from A* to E. Cambridge International AS Level subjects are graded A to E. There is no A* grade awarded at Cambridge International AS Level. The Cambridge AICE Diploma is awarded on a points system, so each grade is converted to a number of points as shown in the table below.

Grade A* is awarded 140 points, however the maximum number of Cambridge AICE Diploma points is capped at 420.

Learners who meet the requirements of the group award will receive a Cambridge AICE Diploma at one of three levels: Pass, Merit or Distinction. The level awarded is based on the overall Cambridge AICE Diploma score.

Cambridge AICE Diploma with Distinction: awarded to students with a score of 360 points or above. The maximum Diploma score is 420 points.

Cambridge AICE Diploma with Merit: awarded to students with between 250 and 359 points.

Cambridge AICE Diploma at Pass level: awarded to students with between 140 and 249 points.

Learners who do not meet the requirements of the group award will receive certificates for their individual subjects.

Subjects offered for achieving the AICE Diploma at Istanbul International School:

Group 1: Pure Mathematics (9709) / Biology (9700) / Chemistry (9701) / Physics (9702) / Information Technology (9626)

Group 2: English Language (9093)

Group 3: History (9389) / Sociology (9699) / Business (9609) / Media Studies (9607)

Group 4: Global Perspectives and Research (9239) (Compulsory)

Early Years

Our programme is designed to encourage a balance of child initiated and teacher facilitated activities. The programme offers children a variety of choices. The environment includes art, dramatic play, maths, language work, enjoying books, art, music, water and sand play, science activities, and so on. Our goals include the encouragement of each child’s natural curiosity and interest in learning.

Primary School

Our School’s primary curriculum is built around the need to provide knowledge skills and understanding arranged by subject under three areas of study, environmental studies, life skills and the expressive arts. Our primary grades 1 – 4 are equivalent to Years 2 – 5 in the Cambridge Curriculum.

Middle School

The Middle School is an important bridging period between Primary School and High School. Our Middle School Grades 5 – 8 are equivalent to Years 6 – 9 in the Cambridge Curriculum.


Cambridge IGCSE™ is the world’s most popular international qualification for 14 to 16 year olds, although it can be taken by students of other ages. It is tried, tested and trusted. It is taught by over 4800 schools in 146 countries. The programmes balance a thorough knowledge and understanding of a subject and help to develop the skills learners need for their next steps in education or employment.

AS/ Level

The A Level syllabuses prepare learners for university study, which is why universities worldwide value and recognise Cambridge International AS & A Level qualifications.