The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award (referred to as ‘the Award’) is the world’s leading achievement award for young people. It is voluntary,non-competitive and available to anyone aged 14–24. The Award is tough, but it is about individual challenge, not about reaching specific standards set by someone else.

Young people design their own Award programme, set their own goals, and record their own progress. They choose a Service, Physical and Skills activity, go on an Adventurous Journey and, to achieve a Gold Award, take part in a Residential Project.

The only person they compete against is themselves, by challenging their own beliefs about what they can achieve. There are three progressive levels which when successfully completed lead to a Bronze, Silver or Gold Award. Over eight million young people have participated in the Award since it began in 1956 and many millions more have felt its impact in their communities. However, we need to reach a more diverse range of young people and are aiming to increase the number beginning their Award each year from 300,000 to 750,000 by 2020.

If you are interested in challenging yourself and would like to join the Award programme please contact any of the Award Representatives below.

Award Co-ordinator: Malcom Lees (School Administrator & Football Team Coach)

Award Leader: Yeşim Nayman (IGCSE Combined Science Teacher)

Award Leader: Betül Karakuş (Middle School Art and IGCSE Art & Design Teacher)

Award Leader: Olaf Pasquier (Librarian)

Award Supervisor: Semih Sucağlar (IGCSE & A-Level Mathematics Teacher)

Early Years

Our programme is designed to encourage a balance of child initiated and teacher facilitated activities. The programme offers children a variety of choices. The environment includes art, dramatic play, maths, language work, enjoying books, art, music, water and sand play, science activities, and so on. Our goals include the encouragement of each child’s natural curiosity and interest in learning.

Primary School

Our School’s primary curriculum is built around the need to provide knowledge skills and understanding arranged by subject under three areas of study, environmental studies, life skills and the expressive arts. Our primary grades 1 – 4 are equivalent to Years 2 – 5 in the Cambridge Curriculum.

Middle School

The Middle School is an important bridging period between Primary School and High School. Our Middle School Grades 5 – 8 are equivalent to Years 6 – 9 in the Cambridge Curriculum.


Cambridge IGCSE™ is the world’s most popular international qualification for 14 to 16 year olds, although it can be taken by students of other ages. It is tried, tested and trusted. It is taught by over 4800 schools in 146 countries. The programmes balance a thorough knowledge and understanding of a subject and help to develop the skills learners need for their next steps in education or employment.

AS/ Level

The A Level syllabuses prepare learners for university study, which is why universities worldwide value and recognise Cambridge International AS & A Level qualifications.