ICE Award

Cambridge ICE is a group award for Cambridge IGCSE that recognizes the achievements of learners who choose a broad and balanced curriculum and pass examinations in at least seven Cambridge IGCSE subjects from five different subject groups, including two different languages.

The Cambridge IGCSE subjects are grouped into five curriculum areas:

  • Group I: Languages
  • Group II: Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Group III: Sciences
  • Group IV: Mathematics
  • Group V: Creative and Professional

Learners must take two different languages from Group I, and one subject from each of Groups II, III, IV and V. The seventh subject can be taken from any of the five subject groups.

Subjects offered for achieving the ICE Award at Istanbul International School:

Group I: First Language English (0500) / English as a Second Language (0511) / Spanish as a Foreign Language (0530)

Group II: Geography (0460) / Global Perspectives (0457) / History (0470) / Sociology (0495) / Economics (0455)

Group III: Biology (0610) / Chemistry (0620) / Physics (0625) / Combined Science (0653)

Group IV: Mathematics (0580)

Group V: Art & Design (0400) / Business Studies (0450) /Information and Communication Technology (0417)

Environmental Management can count as either a Group II or a Group III subject, and Co-ordinated Sciences (Double Award) counts as two subjects.

Early Years

Our programme is designed to encourage a balance of child initiated and teacher facilitated activities. The programme offers children a variety of choices. The environment includes art, dramatic play, maths, language work, enjoying books, art, music, water and sand play, science activities, and so on. Our goals include the encouragement of each child’s natural curiosity and interest in learning.

Primary School

Our School’s primary curriculum is built around the need to provide knowledge skills and understanding arranged by subject under three areas of study, environmental studies, life skills and the expressive arts. Our primary grades 1 – 4 are equivalent to Years 2 – 5 in the Cambridge Curriculum.

Middle School

The Middle School is an important bridging period between Primary School and High School. Our Middle School Grades 5 – 8 are equivalent to Years 6 – 9 in the Cambridge Curriculum.


Cambridge IGCSE™ is the world’s most popular international qualification for 14 to 16 year olds, although it can be taken by students of other ages. It is tried, tested and trusted. It is taught by over 4800 schools in 146 countries. The programmes balance a thorough knowledge and understanding of a subject and help to develop the skills learners need for their next steps in education or employment.

AS/ Level

The A Level syllabuses prepare learners for university study, which is why universities worldwide value and recognise Cambridge International AS & A Level qualifications.